Tag Archives: National Women’s Hall of Fame

3rd Annual Right to Run 19K & 5K in Seneca Falls .::. Official Race Video

The 3rd Annual Right to Run 19K and 5K race was held in Seneca Falls, NY on Saturday to benefit the National Women’s Hall of Fame and the Girls on the Run program. Hear from the winners of the men’s and women’s 5K and 19K winners, race director Heather Zellers, NWHOF Class of 2011 inductee Kathrine Switzer and more during FingerLakes1.com’s coverage of the event.


2017 National Women’s Hall of Fame Induction .::. September 16, 2017

In celebration of the 100th year anniversary of Women’s Right to Vote in NY, The National Women’s Hall of Fame will host a weekend celebrating the achievements of American Women in the birthplace of the Women’s Rights movement in the U.S. The highlight of the weekend is the induction of ten women for their historic achievement into the Hall of Fame. “We are pleased to add ten American women to the ranks of inductees whose leadership and achievements have changed the course of American history,” said Dr. Betty M. Bayer, the Hall’s Co-President and professor of Women’s Studies at Hobart and William Smith Colleges. The National Women’s Hall of Fame will celebrate the inclusion of 10 extraordinary women into the ranks of the inductees at the biennial induction ceremony on September 16, 2017 at 12 pm at the NYS Chiropractic College in Seneca Falls, NY.


Glorious September Weekend Ahead .::. FLX Weekly with Jessica Lahr 9/13/17

We’re two weeks into September and the weather outlook for the weekend ahead rivals any we’ve seen all summer long. Join Jessica Lahr, Jim Sinicropi and Josh Durso for all the details including the top area events and sports line-up. Also, details on our livestream of Saturday’s Women’s Hall of Fame induction ceremony in Seneca Falls, a recap of Tuesday’s primary election and the best photos from around the Finger Lakes over the past week.


25th National Women’s Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony .::. October 3, 2015 in Seneca Falls, NY

Watch the 2015 National Women’s Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, held on Saturday, October 3rd at New York Chiropractic College in Seneca Falls, New York.

There are ten inductees in this the 2015 Class…

Tenley Albright (1935 – ) – Diagnosed with polio at age 11 and told she might never walk again, Tenley Albright returned to the ice rink and at age 16, won a silver medal at the 1952 Olympics. In 1953, she became the first American woman to win a world figure skating championship and became the first winner of figure skating’s triple crown.

Nancy Brinker (1946 – ) – In 1982, with a promise to her dying sister, Nancy Brinker launched the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation (changed to Susan G. Komen for the Cure in 2007).

Martha Graham (1894 – 1991) – Martha Graham’s impact on dance was staggering and often compared to that of Picasso’s on painting, Stravinsky’s on music, and Frank Lloyd Wright’s on architecture.

Marcia Greenberger (1946 – ) – Marcia Greenberger’s work has affected virtually every major law of importance to women and girls in the U.S. for more than 40 years.

Barbara Iglewski (1938 – ) – A Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, Dr. Barbara Iglewski holds seven patents and is a prolific writer and editor. Her landmark discovery was that pathogenic bacteria communicate with each other.

Jean Kilbourne (1943 – ) – Jean Kilbourne is internationally recognized for her groundbreaking work on the image of women in advertising and for her critical studies of alcohol and tobacco advertising.

Carlotta Walls LaNier (1942 – ) – In 1957, at age 14, Carlotta Walls became the youngest member of the Little Rock Nine; nine African-American students who integrated Central High School in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Philippa Marrack (1945 – ) – Philippa “Pippa” Marrack is one of the world’s leading research scientists investigating T-cells, the family of cells that help the body fight off disease.

Mary Harriman Rumsey (1881 – 1934) – The founder of The Junior League, Mary Harriman Rumsey’s initial organization was a group of 80 debutantes in 1901.

Eleanor Smeal (1939 – ) – The Founder of The Feminist Majority, Feminist of the Year Awards, a former president of the National Organization for Women, and publisher of Ms. Magazine.